Katy Perry – “Teenage Dream”

Published July 27th 2010
Filed under Reviews

Katy Perry has released the second single, the title track from her upcoming album, Teenage Dream. Like her previous, huge, summer hit California Gurls, Teenage Dream is also a Max Martin, Dr. Luke and Benny Blanco collaboration.

Teenage Dream still has a strong beat with an insanely catchy melody which California Gurls has, except it’s less fun but this isn’t a bad thing. It’s an end of the summer song which is perfect for the time of year it’s being released. Katy sings about how someone she fell in love with reminds her of being a teenager. Lyrically, it’s much more serious than California Gurls and the melody is very melancholic to support the lyrics. The lyrics also make a reference to California again in a subtle way. The tempo is almost the same as California Gurls which will make sure Teenage Dream gets played in clubs just as much as the latter.

Katy’s official Youtube channel uploaded a music and lyric video with images from the yet to be released video for Teenage Dream which you can view below:

Teenage Dream is out now in support of the upcoming album of the same name to be released August 22nd.

McFly – “Party Girl” New Single

Published July 14th 2010
Filed under Reviews

McFly have taken a risk and changed up their sound completely for their fifth studio album, having re-signed a new profit-sharing deal with their old record label, Island Records. The lead single is the Dallas Austin produced, Party Girl, which sounds a bit like McFly singing their own version of Lady GaGa’s Bad Romance.

While Party Girl is a departure in sound for McFly, it still sounds like a McFly track somehow. This is probably because the vocals aren’t edited too much so they’re still quite distinctive, but Party Girl also somewhat sounds like a progression from their single Lies.

McFly also announced their second single from the, yet to be titled, new album would be the Taio Cruz track Shine A Light later in the year, along with the launch of their new Super City website and a thirty minute movie which will accompany Party Girl.

Party Girl will be released on September 6th through Island Records.

The Saturdays’ “Headlines” Details

Published July 14th 2010
Filed under News

The Saturdays have revealed the album artwork to their third album Headlines which is to be released in August following the lead single Missing You. It’s definitely the best album cover they’ve had so far which includes the return of their original logo which hasn’t been seen since their debut album, Chasing Lights, and as always, the girls’ individual colours have been incorporated.

The album tracklisting has also been released which confirms one of the rumoured tracklisting’s to be true:

01. Missing You
02. Ego
03. Higher
04. Forever Is Over
05. Died In Your Eyes
06. Karma
07. Puppet
08. One Shot (Starsmith Mix)

It makes sense to include previous singles, Ego and Forever Is Over, from their previous album, Wordshaker, as an incentive for people who didn’t buy Wordshaker to buy Headlines. One Shot was a fan favourite on Wordshaker so the remix can only improve it. Although it’s only eight tracks long, we already know that Forever Is Over, Ego, One Shot, Missing You and Higher are all great songs meaning there’s not much room for filler on this mini album which will hopefully sell more copies than Wordshaker did. Since hearing it live, Higher sounds like it could be a huge second single.

Missing You is released August 8th followed by Headlines on August 16th through Fascination Records.

Ellie Goulding – “The Writer” Video Premiere

Published July 13th 2010
Filed under Videos

The video for Ellie Goulding’s fourth single, The Writer, from her debut album, Lights, premiered at the weekend. The Writer is one of the best songs on Ellie’s album and more deserving of a single release than previous singles Guns And Horses and Under The Sheets. However, as a fourth single it may struggle to become the hit it deserves to be.

The video is very simple but allows the song to be fully appreciated by not distracting from it. There’s no plot but it shows Ellie walking through a field and walking around a lighthouse while singing the song.

The Writer will be released on August 9th through Polydor Records.

Maroon 5 – “Misery” and “Hands All Over”

Published July 13th 2010
Filed under Reviews,Videos

Maroon 5 have released the lead single, Misery, from their upcoming third album, Hands All Over. Misery is a typical Maroon 5 song, as it sticks to their unique sound which makes you instantly recognise that it’s Maroon 5 when you listen. While it doesn’t sound very innovative, it’s still a catchy song which is what Maroon 5 have always been about (although this may not be the best song to lead an album with, but it does sound similar to This Love).

The video for Misery premiered recently too. It’s also a typical Maroon 5 video as lead vocalist, Adam Levine, has a love interest as usual. However, this time his love interest treats him badly by beating him, throwing him off buildings, causing him to get knocked down by a car and stabbing his friends while still continuing to display her love for him by kissing him at the same time. It’s quite a funny video while still remaining somewhat true to the lyrics of Misery.

Hands All Over is scheduled for release on September 21st with the following tracklisting:

01. How
02. Never Gonna Leave
03. Wasted Years
04. Last Chance
05. Don’t Know Much About That
06. Out of Goodbyes (featuring Lady Antebellum)
07. I Can’t Lie
08. Give a Little More
09. Misery
10. Stutter
11. Hands All Over
12. Stay Out Of My Life