P!nk – “The Truth About Love” Tracklisting

Published July 24th 2012
Filed under News

The tracklisting for P!nk’s sixth studio, The Truth About Love, has been released on iTunes. Some of the songs have very interesting titles.

It’s still unknown which track Lily Allen features on but I’m guessing it’s one of the more “out there” titles such as Slut Like You, Chaos & Piss or Walk of Shame.

The standard edition of the album only contains the first 13 tracks as P!nk has said she likes her albums to have 13 tracks, since it’s her lucky number.

The track list includes the following:

01. Are We All We Are
02. Blow Me (One Last Kiss)
03. Try
04. Just Give Me A Reason
05. True Love
06. How Come You’re Not Here
07. Slut Like You
08. The Truth About Love
09. Beam Me Up
10. Walk Of Shame
11. Here Comes The Weekend
12. Where Did The Beat Go?
13. The Great Escape
14. My Signature Move
15. Is This Thing On?
16. Run
17. Good Old Days
18. Chaos & Piss
19. Timebomb

The Truth About Love is out September 18th.

Mutya, Keisha and Siobhán are back…

Published July 20th 2012
Filed under News

…but they’re not Sugababes, Origibabes or Suga. They’re Mutya Keisha Siobhan. The founding members of Sugababes took to Twitter to announce their comeback.

Siobhán tweeted:

It’s been killing us to keep it secret any longer! @keisha_buchanan @MutyaBuena @OutsideEdgePR

Keisha tweeted:

Dear tweeters ive been trying my best to keep this one on the DL haha @MutyaBuena @siobhandonaghy @mksofficial http://twitpic.com/a9my62

Mutya tweeted:

@siobhandonaghy @keisha_buchanan I think we should tell the world. WE’RE BACK!!! @mksofficial @OutsideEdgePR http://twitpic.com/a9my7c

Popjustice interviewed the girls. You can read snippets from the interview here.

P!nk has collaborated with Lily Allen

Published July 20th 2012
Filed under News

P!nk has collaborated with Lily Allen on her upcoming album The Truth About Love. In an interview with Carson Daly, P!nk confirmed the collaboration. Lily Allen also retweeted a number of tweets about the duet. This will be Lily’s first work since coming out of retirement.

P!nk told Carson Daly:

For the last 14 years, everyone has said no [to collaborations]. But this album, everyone said yes! And I think that’s because people think I’ve softened. I think people maybe think I bite!

It’s an interesting collaboration because P!nk and Lily Allen are probably the last people I would’ve expected to duet. I would’ve expected a P!nk and Kelly Clarkson collaboration before this. But in a way this could be a bit amazing since they’re both two of the best lyricists in pop.

The collaboration possibly came about because P!nk and Lily have both been working with Greg Kurstin. Greg produced P!nk’s lead single from The Truth About Love, Blow Me (One Last Kiss), so the two would’ve both been in the studio with Greg around the same time.

The Truth About Love is out September 18th.

The Saturdays – “30 Days”

Published March 30th 2012
Filed under News,Reviews

The Saturdays’ new single 30 Days premiered this morning on BBC Radio One. The track is written and produced by Steve Mac and Autumn Rowe.

30 Days sounds like a track from On Your Radar. It’s a dance pop track similar to All Fired Up but not as catchy. The first thing that came into my head when the song started playing was how much it sounds like Inna’s Hot. But the most surprising thing of all was that I heard Mollie’s voice open the first verse. The song really suits her voice and she also sings again on the second verse.

The problem with 30 Days is, it doesn’t have a strong, catchy melody. It just goes along and while there’s nice production and it’s interesting at times, it’s not really enough. I can’t see this being a success for them. When I mentioned it sounds like a track from On Your Radar, I meant it sounds like a good album track from On Your Radar. It’s not the kind of song that should be released as a single, never mind the lead single from a damage control re-release album.

The damage control is on a low budget which is apparent from the use of the On Your Radar photoshoot for the single cover as seen above and the tracklisting for the single which includes Turn Myself In, a track recorded sometime in 2010 that the girls performed on their Headlines tour. Usual Saturdays releases always include a specially recorded b-side.

Overall, 30 Days is a good song but nothing amazing and not what The Saturdays need right now to help them recover from a flop album. They needed a Higher, Ego, Faster, Up kind of song that would’ve guaranteed them a big hit.

You can watch the lyric video for 30 Days below:

30 Days is out May 13th through Polydor Records.

Maroon 5 Announce 4th Studio Album “Overexposed”

Published March 26th 2012
Filed under News

Maroon 5 have announced their fourth studio album, Overexposed, will be released this June 26th. The new album is said to be their most “pop” album yet. Like Moves Like Jagger, the band decided to collaborate with the writing process which is something they don’t usually do.

Overexposed is executively produced by Max Martin but also features tracks produced by Ryan Tedder and Benny Blanco.

The band announced the new album via their website. Adam Levine said:

Overexposed is definitely our most diverse and poppiest albums yet. We had a great time recording it. I can’t wait for our fans to hear the record, as well as hitting the road to play it live for everyone later this year.

James Valentine added:

Moves Like Jagger was the first time we ever worked with an outside writer, so we decided to try it some more on this record. At this point in our career I think it was a good thing to completely mix up our process and it yielded good results, as well as a more collaborative spirit within the band. We wanted to make something that sounded contemporary with the elements of a lot of early eras of pop music. This is our most “pop” record ever and we weren’t shy about really going for it.

Some of the tracks included on the album include Payphone featuring Wiz Khalifa, One More Night and Beautiful Goodbye.

I can’t imagine what Maroon 5 will sound like with songs by Max Martin, Ryan Tedder and Benny Blanco, but I’m excited to hear what they’ve come up with.