New Music Friday – 28/4

Published April 28th 2017
Filed under New Music Friday

Katy Perry has released her second single Bon Appétit from her upcoming KP4. Bon Appétit is produced by Max Martin and features Migos. It’s probably the most urban track Katy has ever done but at the same time the production style is consistent with Chained To The Rhythm. It doesn’t sound like a Katy Perry song and doesn’t sound like a massive hit but it’s a good album track. Luckily a no-rap version is coming because the Migos feature is unnecessary.
Listen: (YouTube link)

Kygo has released First Time featuring Ellie Goulding. It’s a basic EDM track but so catchy you can’t help but like it. It’s no It Ain’t Me but could end up being a minor hit.
Listen: (YouTube link)

The Vamps have released the second single from their upcoming third album called Middle Of The Night. The Ed Drewett track is produced by Martin Jensen and continues on from the EDM/dubstep sound of their last single All Night. It seems The Vamps (or their label) are going the Maroon 5/OneRepublic route of releasing EDM tracks to score hits but forgetting that they’re supposed to be a band. As long as the music is as good as this though…
Listen: (YouTube link)

OneRepublic have released a new single called No Vacancy. Ryan Tedder explained the release on OneRepublic’s Facebook. The band plan to release new music at it’s made every few weeks instead of releasing music in the format of an album. No Vacancy is an EDM track originally intended for Selena Gomez but Ryan loved the track so much he kept it for OneRepublic. It’s produced by Stargate and it’s a lot better than most of Oh My My. It could potentially be huge.
Listen: (YouTube link)

Hailee Steinfeld has release Most Girls – another EDM Ryan Tedder track. Its lyrics let it down but it’s still a catchy song. It’s no Starving though.
Listen: (YouTube link)

Little Mix have released an acoustic version of No More Sad Songs – the third single to be taken from Glory Days. The girls sound incredible on it and Jesy’s middle 8 is back.
Listen: (Spotify link)

Maroon 5 – “Love Somebody” Video Premiere

Published May 21st 2013
Filed under Videos

lovesomebodyMaroon 5’s video for Love Somebody, the fourth single from Overexposed, premiered on The Voice last night. The video is basically just a performance video with some paint effects to show the members of Maroon 5 appear in front of the white background.

As one of the best songs on Overexposed, like Daylight, Love Somebody didn’t get a great video treatment. At least the band feature in the Love Somebody video, but it’s not the great video it should be.

However, I still think Love Somebody will be a huge hit. It’s one of the most radio friendly songs on Overexposed and it’s co-written with Ryan Tedder.

You can check out the video below:

Maroon 5 & Avril Lavigne – “Smilephone”

Published September 03rd 2012
Filed under Videos

Plenty of songs are recycled over and over by producers and given to different artists with new lyrics. Examples of this are Dr. Luke with About You Now by Sugababes and My Life Would Suck Without You by Kelly Clarkson, Ryan Tedder with Kelly Clarkson’s Already Gone and Beyconcé’s Halo, Dr. Luke with P!nk’s U + Ur Hand and The Veronicas’ 4ever.

The latest of the bunch is Shellback recycling his track Smile by Avril Lavigne and turning it into Payphone by Maroon 5.

I’ve created a mashup of the two. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get my hands on the official vocal track for Smile but it still shows how easily Smile and Payphone fit together. You can listen to it below:

You can listen to my mashup of Kelly Clarkson’s Already Gone and Beyoncé’s Halo below:

Maroon 5 Announce 4th Studio Album “Overexposed”

Published March 26th 2012
Filed under News

Maroon 5 have announced their fourth studio album, Overexposed, will be released this June 26th. The new album is said to be their most “pop” album yet. Like Moves Like Jagger, the band decided to collaborate with the writing process which is something they don’t usually do.

Overexposed is executively produced by Max Martin but also features tracks produced by Ryan Tedder and Benny Blanco.

The band announced the new album via their website. Adam Levine said:

Overexposed is definitely our most diverse and poppiest albums yet. We had a great time recording it. I can’t wait for our fans to hear the record, as well as hitting the road to play it live for everyone later this year.

James Valentine added:

Moves Like Jagger was the first time we ever worked with an outside writer, so we decided to try it some more on this record. At this point in our career I think it was a good thing to completely mix up our process and it yielded good results, as well as a more collaborative spirit within the band. We wanted to make something that sounded contemporary with the elements of a lot of early eras of pop music. This is our most “pop” record ever and we weren’t shy about really going for it.

Some of the tracks included on the album include Payphone featuring Wiz Khalifa, One More Night and Beautiful Goodbye.

I can’t imagine what Maroon 5 will sound like with songs by Max Martin, Ryan Tedder and Benny Blanco, but I’m excited to hear what they’ve come up with.

OneRepublic – “Secrets” Worldwide Music Video

Published May 20th 2010
Filed under Videos

OneRepublic are finally releasing second single, Secrets, from their sophomore album, Waking Up, worldwide. Secrets was originally released last year as the lead single from the album in Germany, to coincide with the release of Zweiohrküken, a German movie which features Secrets on its original sound track. The worldwide release of the single has since been delayed a number of times.

The original music video, showed clips from the movie in between scenes of OneRepublic performing the song. The 2010 worldwide treatment of the video, keeps the original performance scenes but adds scenes of lead vocalist Ryan Tedder at a restaurant, sitting behind a girl who was seemingly stood-up. Other new scenes show Ryan encounter the girl in the street without any recognition of her. When the girl revisits the restaurant, she sees the person who stood her up while Ryan sings the lyrics of Secrets in her ear.

Secrets has no tentative release date worldwide but will be added to US radio on June 1st.