Robyn – Body Talk Pt. 1

Published April 11th 2010
Filed under Reviews

Robyn’s been working on the follow up to her 2005 self-titled album for a while but for some reason it wasn’t an album I was eagerly awaiting. So it wasn’t a surprise that I didn’t notice when Robyn uploaded a new album track, Fembot from her upcoming album Body Talk Pt. 1, to her official site a few weeks ago.

Fembot surprised me on first listen since I didn’t think much of her recent collaborations such as Christian Falk’s Dream On and Röyksopp’s The Girl And The Robot. Fembot sounds like a coherent progression from the sound of Robyn’s previous album, building on the style of tracks such as the updated international versions of Bum Like You and Robotboy. You can take a listen to Fembot below:


The album artwork for Body Talk Pt. 1, the first of two or possibly three albums which Robyn plans to release this year, also looks really impressive with some interesting song titles.

1. Don’t Fucking Tell Me What To Do
2. Fembot
3. Dancing On My Own
4. Cry When You Get Older
5. Dance Hall Queen
6. None of Dem (Featuring Röyksopp)
7. Hang With Me (Acoustic)
8. Jag Vet En Dejlig Rosa

Body Talk Pt. 1 will be released through Robyn’s label Konichiwa Records on June 14th following the lead single Dancing On My Own on June 7th.