Lady Gaga – “The Cure” New Single

Published April 16th 2017
Filed under News,Reviews

Lady Gaga has released a new single called The Cure mid-Joanne campaign. She premiered the single last night live at Coachella.

The Cure is a tropical dance pop track which fits in with everything else on radio right now. Co-produced by Gaga herself with Nick Monson, it sounds nothing like anything on Joanne which is making everyone wonder what is this single for?

It can’t be a re-release as The Cure would completely ruin the vibe of Joanne. Maybe Gaga is intending on releasing an EDM album to accompany Joanne. She worked with RedOne during the Joanne sessions (one RedOne track made Joanne) and Bloodpop may not have just done Joanne-style tracks so there could be a whole other dance pop album ready to go.

Either way, The Cure might not be groundbreaking for Gaga but it’s ridiculously catchy and her vocal is the popiest she’s sounded since The Fame. This could be huge.

Take a listen to The Cure below:

Steps – “You Make Me Whole”

Published April 14th 2017
Filed under News,Reviews

Steps have released an instant-grat track from their upcoming album Tears On The Dancefloor called You Make Me Whole.

You Make Me Whole is an uptempo dance song and not exactly what you’d expect from Steps song but it’s very good. It starts off sounding a bit Early Winter by Gwen Stefani before exploding into an Alias banger by the chorus that sounds like Move On U vs. Young by The Saturdays and Tulisa.

Maybe this is the kind of sound Steps would’ve progressed to at some point earlier had the split never happened.

You Make Me Whole is so instant and catchy it should definitely be the second single. It could possibly fair better than Scared of The Dark which has done well considering how much streaming has effected the singles chart.

Take a listen below:

The Chainsmokers – “Memories… Do Not Open” Album Breakdown

Published April 07th 2017
Filed under Reviews

The Chainsmokers have released their debut album Memories… Do Not Open. The album is missing their massive hits Roses, Don’t Let Me Down and Closer which would’ve made the album a more solid debut even if they’ve been around for a while.

Overall there’s some good songs on the album especially Bloodstream, Break Up Every Night and the singles Paris and Something Just Like This.

Check out the breakdown of the album below:

The One
Break Up Every Night
Don’t Say (feat. Emily Warren)
Something Just Like This (feat. Coldplay)
My Type (feat. Emily Warren)
It Won’t Kill Ya (feat. Louane)
Wake Up Alone (feat. Jhené Aiko)
Last Day Alive (feat. Florida Georgia Line)

Memories… Do Not Open is available to stream everywhere now.

Nelly Furtado – “The Ride” Album Breakdown

Published March 30th 2017
Filed under Reviews

Nelly Furtado releases her 6th studio album The Ride tomorrow, March 31st. Released independently through her own record label Nelstar, The Ride sees Nelly experiment with a new sound while still sounding like a Nelly Furtado album.

All 12 tracks on The Ride are produced by John Congleton. The vocal production and Nelly’s singing style are a lot less grating than 2012’s Spirit Indestructible which often verged on screeching.

The highlights are Carnival Games, Magic, Arlissa cover Sticks And Stones and closing ballad Phoenix which was the first track Nelly recorded for the album and shows off a different singing style for Nelly.

Here’s a breakdown of the tracks:

Cold Hard Truth
Carnival Games
Paris Sun
Sticks And Stones
Pipe Dreams
Tap Dancing
Right Road

Take a listen to The Ride below:

Zara Larsson – “So Good” Album Breakdown

Published March 17th 2017
Filed under Reviews

Zara Larsson’s sophomore album So Good has finally been released.

It really should’ve been ready to drop after Lush Life to capitalise on its success but at least we got an album eventually.

The highlights are Lush Life, What They Say, TG4M and I Can’t Fall In Love Without You.

Overall it’s a solid debut but could’ve done without Only You, Ain’t My Fault and So Good – even though the latter two were bad singles.

Here’s a breakdown of the tracks:

What They Say
Lush Life
I Would Like
So Good (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)
Only You
Never Forget You
Sundown (feat. Wizkid)
Don’t Let Me Be Yours
Make That Money Girl
Ain’t My Fault
One Mississippi
I Can’t Fall In Love Without You

You can preview So Good below: